2024-03-26
 
Cette section est réservée aux membres du RQD
Version française

Susanna Hood

The Muted Note - "The Understatement"

Tiohtià:ke/Mooniyang/Montreal-based performer, maker and educator in both dance and music, Susanna Hood has devoted her career to synthesizing voice and movement, creating intimate and sensual performances in both dance-theatre and improvised music contexts. Founder and former artistic director of interdisciplinary performance company hum dansoundart (2000-2013) her work has been marked by significant collaborations with musical artists Nilan Perera (improvisational duo dialogues; and choreographic musical works still, She’s gone away, Shudder), John Oswald (Spinvolver), and Scott Thomson (as band member of The Rent – repertoire by Steve Lacy – and The Disguises; and as co-creator/performer of The Muted Note – songs and dances setting the poetry of P.K. Page).

Throughout her career as a creator, and particularly in the last decade, she has sought a total integration of the dance and music aspects of her practice, influenced by her internal, holistic experience of moving, sounding, and listening. Something she refers to as embodied music: the experience of movement as music and of sound/music as movement, where the two forms, in dialogue, remain simultaneously distinct and interchangeable, to create a listener/viewer experience that blurs the lines between what is heard and what is seen. In support of this interest, she pursued post-graduate research in the Research Studios at P.A.R.T.S. in Brussels, Belgium (2015/2016) with the program’s emphasis on synergistic relations between dance and music. Her most recent creations (Music Is, 2016, and Impossibly Happy, 2019) have been driven by her own musical compositions arranging voices, instruments and movement.

Recent projects include: the duo musical collaboration Tortues Vapeur, with Montreal turntablist, Martin Tétreault, mixing turntables, electronics, synthesizers, vocals and objects. (releasing their first disk on on DAME’s Mikroclimat label in 2019); a duo with Belgian bassist, Peter Jacquemyn; touring performances with the French trio Rrève Sélavy (Frédéric BBriet, double bass; Nicolas Pointard, drums; and Christophe Rocher, clarinettes); and unPacked,  the first project with her trio with Toronto/Tkaronto musicians Tania Gill (piano) and Kayla Milmine (soprano saxophone), where Susanna is performer, bandleader, arranger and choreographer for a suite of songs by the late American poet, Judith Malina and the late American jazz composer, Steve Lacy. unPacked will be released as a recording in early 2024 on Quebec’s DAME/Ambiance Magnétique label. Recent concerts of note include both the Suonil per Il Popolo Festival in Montreal and the Something Else! Festival in Hamilton in June 2023 and an upcoming presentation at the Guelph International Jazz Festival in September 2023.

Since 2004, Susanna has been teaching improvisation, composition, and voice and movement synthesis in various institutions and through independent workshops across Canada, internationally and online, including: The School of the Toronto Dance Theatre (ON, CAN), T.O. Love-In (ON, CAN), l’École de Danse Contemporaine de Montréal (QC, CAN), Studio 303 (QC, CAN), TransFormation (QC, CAN), L’École de Danse de Québec (QC, CAN), l’Artère (QC, CAN), Crimson Coast Dance Society (BC, CAN), Mascall Dance (BC, CAN), Istanbul International Festival of Improvisation (Istanbul, Turkey), Le Conservatoire de Brest (Brest, France), E.D.E.N. Studios (Berlin, Germany), and in Graz, Austria. She has recently joined the regular part-time faculty in the Department of Contemporary Dance at Concordia University, Montreal and at Dance Art Institute (formerly The School of the Toronto Dance Theatre), Toronto.

Since 2013, alongside founder Stephanie Skura, Susanna has become a teacher trainer of Open Source Forms, a practice fluidly expanded from and combining the principles of the Skinner Releasing Technique with the varied and developing practices of its teachers. In July 2023 she completed teacher certification in Emotionally Integrated Voice with her teacher of 20 years, Fides Krucker. Both of these practices lie at the core of her creative process which interweaves a concern with physical music-making and how both our physiology and our emotions can work together to create sustainable and intentional vocal and physical expression and communication.

Awards include the 1998 K.M. Hunter Emerging Artists Award in Dance, 2006 Dora Mavor Moore Award for Outstanding Performance in Dance, and the 2008 Canada Council Victor Martin Lynch-Staunton Award for Outstanding Achievement in the field of Dance.

2024-03-26
 
Cette section est réservée aux membres du RQD
English version

Susanna Hood

The Muted Note - "The Understatement"

Basée à Tiohtià:ke/Mooniyang/Montréal, l’interprète, créatrice et pédagogue en danse et en musique, Susanna Hood a consacré sa carrière à la synthèse de la voix et du mouvement, créant des performances intimes et sensuelles dans des contextes de danse-théâtre et de musique improvisée. Fondatrice et ancienne directrice artistique de la compagnie de performance interdisciplinaire hum dansoundart (2000-2013), son travail a été marqué par des collaborations significatives avec les artistes musicaux Nilan Perera (dialogues en duo d'improvisation ; et œuvres musicales chorégraphiques still, She's gone away, Shudder), John Oswald (Spinvolver), et Scott Thomson (en tant que membre du groupe The Rent – répertoire de Steve Lacy – et The Disguises ; et en tant que co-créateur/interprète de The Muted Note – chansons et danses mettant en scène la poésie de P.K. Page).

Tout au long de sa carrière de créatrice, et plus particulièrement au cours de la dernière décennie, elle a cherché à intégrer totalement les aspects danse et musique de sa pratique, influencée par son expérience interne et holistique du mouvement, du son et de l'écoute. C'est ce qu'elle appelle la musique incarnée : l'expérience du mouvement en tant que musique et du son/musique en tant que mouvement, où les deux formes, en dialogue, restent simultanément distinctes et interchangeables, pour créer une expérience pour l'auditeur/le spectateur qui brouille les lignes entre ce qui est entendu et ce qui est vu. Pour soutenir cet intérêt, elle a poursuivi une recherche post-universitaire dans les studios de recherche de P.A.R.T.S. à Bruxelles, en Belgique (2015/2016), le programme mettant l'accent sur les relations synergiques entre la danse et la musique. Ses créations les plus récentes (Music Is, 2016, et Impossibly Happy, 2019) ont été guidées par ses propres compositions musicales arrangeant des voix, des instruments et des mouvements.

Les projets récents incluent : la collaboration musicale en duo Tortues Vapeur, avec le turntablist montréalais, Martin Tétreault, mélangeant platines, électronique, synthétiseurs, voix et objets. (sortie de leur premier disque sur le label Mikroclimat de DAME en 2019) ; un duo avec le bassiste belge Peter Jacquemyn ; des concerts en tournée avec le trio français Rrève Sélavy (Frédéric BBriet, contrebasse ; Nicolas Pointard, batterie ; et Christophe Rocher, clarinettes) ; et unPacked, le premier projet de son trio avec les musiciennes de Toronto/Tkaronto Tania Gill (piano) et Kayla Milmine (saxophone soprano), où Susanna est à la fois interprète, chef d'orchestre, arrangeuse et chorégraphe pour une suite de chansons de la regrettée poétesse américaine Judith Malina et du regretté compositeur de jazz américain Steve Lacy. UnPacked sera publié en tant qu'enregistrement au début de 2024 sur le label québécois DAME/Ambiance Magnétique. Parmi les concerts récents, notons le Festival Suonil per Il Popolo à Montréal et le Something Else ! Festival à Hamilton en juin 2023 et une présentation au Festival international de jazz de Guelph en septembre 2023.

Depuis 2004, Susanna enseigne l'improvisation, la composition et la synthèse de la voix et du mouvement dans diverses institutions et dans le cadre d'ateliers indépendants au Canada, à l'étranger et en ligne : The School of the Toronto Dance Theatre (ON, CAN), T.O. Love-In (ON, CAN), l'École de Danse Contemporaine de Montréal (QC, CAN), Studio 303 (QC, CAN), TransFormation (QC, CAN), L'École de Danse de Québec (QC, CAN), l'Artère (QC, CAN), Crimson Coast Dance Society (BC, CAN), Mascall Dance (BC, CAN), Istanbul International Festival of Improvisation (Istanbul, Turquie), Le Conservatoire de Brest (Brest, France), E. D.E.N. Studios (Berlin, Allemagne) et à Graz, en Autriche. Elle a récemment rejoint le corps professoral régulier à temps partiel du département de danse contemporaine de l'Université Concordia, à Montréal, et du Dance Art Institute (anciennement The School of the Toronto Dance Theatre), à Toronto.

Depuis 2013, et aux côté de fondatrice Stéphanie Skura, Susanna est devenue formatrice d'enseignants d'Open Source Forms, une pratique qui se développe de manière fluide à partir des principes de la Skinner Releasing Technique et qui les combine avec les pratiques variées et en développement de ses enseignants. En juillet 2023, elle a obtenu la certification d'enseignante en Emotionally Integrated Voice avec son enseignante depuis 20 ans, Fides Krucker. Ces deux pratiques sont au cœur de son processus créatif, qui s'intéresse à la création musicale physique et à la manière dont notre physiologie et nos émotions peuvent travailler ensemble pour créer une expression et une communication vocale et physique durables et intentionnelles.

Elle a notamment reçu le prix K.M. Hunter 1998 pour les artistes émergents en danse, le prix Dora Mavor Moore 2006 pour une performance exceptionnelle en danse et le prix Victor Martin Lynch-Staunton 2008 du Conseil des Arts du Canada pour une réalisation exceptionnelle dans le domaine de la danse.